Human & Rousseau

Sign up for our newsletter!
Bookmark with...

Author Focus


City Press-Tafelberg Nonfiction Award

Call for entries: City Press Tafelberg Nonfiction Award

The City Press Tafelberg Nonfiction Award is now open for entries.

New and established writers are invited to submit proposals for the development of nonfiction manuscripts for publication. The winner receives R120 000, a publishing deal and considerable marketing in City Press. The winning manuscript will be published by Tafelberg, an imprint of NB Publishers, the leading South African publishing house.

With the award, City Press and NB Publishers seek to encourage the tradition of nonfiction that interprets and portrays South African realities in an illuminating and thought-provoking way. The aim is to fund the research and writing of an original work of nonfiction that breaks new ground on a subject of importance in the South African context, irrespective of genre. The award is for English manuscripts only.

Previous winners of the City Press Tafelberg Nonfiction Award include Democracy and Delusion by Sizwe Mpofu-Walsh, Gang Town by Don Pinnock and Postmortem: The Doctor Who Walked Away by Maria Phalime.

 The criteria for entry is as follows:

Relevance: the book should add to our understanding of South African society, history and politics;

: the book should be unafraid to investigate difficult issues;

the quality of the research must be impeccable;

the book must be accessible and appeal to South African readers.

Submissions should include a one page motivation on the relevance of the proposed book, a draft table of contents, at least one chapter with a minimum of 4 000 words and an author CV.

Proposals must be submitted electronically. To download an entry form, go to

“The City Press Tafelberg Nonfiction Award is the preeminent opportunity in nonfiction writing in South Africa. I would encourage any author serious about pursuing a future work to apply.” - Sizwe Mpofu-Walsh

“City Press and Tafelberg want to support South African voices – the fresh, informative, provocative, insightful. I hope anyone who wants to take their chance to speak will submit an entry.” – Kristin Paremoer

Closing date for entries is 31 July 2018

For more information about the award, please contact Tafelberg editor Kristin Paremoer at or 021 406 3393


Our Authors

Wilna Adriaanse Mariël le Roux Liesl Louw-Vaudran Carina Diedericks-Hugo Laura Kristine Arnesen
Click on the image to view more information

Zanri Kritzinger

Zanri Kritzinger holds a B Com Marketing and IS Publishing Studies degree and started her publishing career at Via Afrika, then moved to Oxford University Press...


Latest Releases

Bloedbande | Current Affairs & Issues

Wilhelm Verwoerd

After years of facilitating reconciliation in Ireland, Wilhelm Verwoerd wants to make peace with his own family – especially in dealing with the legacy of his...


Bos | Fiction

Jaco Wolmarans

A friendship and bond of trust that was forged during clandestine operations in Angola during the Bush War. Carlos Viyera, the veteran with a violent past. And...