Human & Rousseau

Sign up for our newsletter!
Bookmark with...

Author Focus

Authors List

Kabelo Duncan Kgatea

Biographical info


Kabelo Duncan Kgatea was born on January 31, 1961. He attended the Motsitlane Bantu School until 1976. In 1979 he started work at Rustenburg Platinum Mines.

In 1988 he matriculated through Lyceum College. In the 1990s he studied at the Writing School of South Africa. He also furthered his studies in drama, advertising, communications (Public Relations) and journalism.

In 2000 Kabelo received the Sanlam Prize for Youth Literature (silver) in the Sotho category for his first book Njeng manong fa ke sule! (Devour me, vultures, when I’m dead!). This book also won the M-Net Prize (Sotho category) in 2001. Kabelo won the Sanlam Prize for Youth Literature four more times for Leba Seipone (2002), Ntshware ka letsogo (2004) and Monwana wa bosupa (2008), Mmudubudu (2012). Kabelo is the seven times finalist in the Sanlam Prize for youth Literature. And his two novels are prescribed for grade 12 nationaly.

Kabelo also translated two of Minie Postma's childrens books from English and Afrikaans to Setswana (In the begining and Mosweunyana the yellow girl)

He is the co-reseacher, presenter and author with professor David Dickinson of Wits university and their work was published by the African journal AIDS Research (accredited by the International Bureaux of Social Sciences). he was crowned t Anglo American, Pick N Pay Angel in Action for his poems and contribution in the fight against HIV/AIDS.

Did you know?

• Kabelo was a mineworker at Amplats (Anglo Platinum) in Rustenburg when his first book Njeng manong fa ke sule! was published in 2000. The book was awarded the Sanlam Prize and Kabelo was subsequently developed and promoted to communications by anglo American Platinum.
Kabelo is back underground as part of his research for his first English book (The Bloody R12 500, before and after the Marikana massacre).
• He wrote 14 radio dramas that were broadcasted by Radio Setswana (SABC) and Radio Mmabatho (BBC).
• The titles of his books can be translated as follows: Njeng manong fa ke sule! (Devour me, vultures, when I’m dead!), Leba Seipone (Look in the mirror), Ntshware ka letsogo (Hold my hand) and Monwana wa bosupa (The fingers that point back) Mmudubudu (Chaos).


Sanlam Prize for Youth Literature: Silver (2000) – Njeng manong fa ke sule!
M-Net Prize: Sotho category (2001) – Njeng manong fa ke sule!
Sanlam Prize for Youth Literature (2002) – Leba Seipone
Sanlam Prize for Youth Literature: gold (2004) – Ntshware ka letsogo
M-Net Literary award (2006) - Ntshware ka Letsogo
Sanlam Prize for Youth Literature: silver (2008) – Monwana wa bosupa
PANSALB 2009 Setswana Multilingualism Nation Building Writer Of The Year
South African Literary Award 2009
K Sello Duiker Memorial Award 2010

List of titles

2000 Njeng manong fa ke sule!, Tafelberg
2002 Leba Seipone, Tafelberg
2006 Ntshware ka letsogo, Tafelberg
2008 Monwana wa bosupa, Tafelberg
2012 Mmudubudu, Tafelberg
2003 Re tswa Ga-Lowe (poetry) Stimela publishers
2003 Di sa itsaneng (drama) Stimela publishers


  • View YouTube Page

Books By This Author